Wine Adventures

First stop: Condom, France!

Bike filled up with gas, bags packed, future unknown….is there a more liberating feeling than the departure of an adventure? I think not.

French Wine Adventure Essentials

I couldn’t resist. When I saw the name on the map, I had to double-check and make sure it was really true. Wow, seriously, people actually called a town “condom”? This is awesome! I have to make it my first stop. It’s only located a few hours south of Bordeaux, and the pure comedic value of claiming I’ve been to Condom, France is worth the extra hour it tacks onto my first day.

Welcome to Condom, France!

 

I had lunch at a local bakery in Condom, and dug up a few bits of information while chatting with some energetic locals:

Contrary to popular belief the condom was not invented in Condom, France.

In fact, according to my bakery friends, Condom doesn’t even sell condoms in their stores.┬áThere are a handful of stores in Condom and they only sell local produce and locally manufactured commodities. My gut questions these statements, but Jean Michel, a friendly old gentleman with a limp, stands by his word. He also mentioned these circumstances, have led to high adolescent pregnancy rates and a serious business opportunity.

Condom also means nothing in French, they call a Jimmy hat a preservative.

I wish I had more time to go condom hunting in Condom, but I need to make it to my camping spot for a big day tomorrow.

Ciao!

 

About WineMakingNomad

British by blood. Californian by accent. French by education. I lead an adventurous lifestyle and own 3 things; a backpack, a motorcycle in Bordeaux, France, and a camping van in Sydney, Australia. With everything on my back, I am currently traveling around the world, finishing my wine MBA degree, making wines, discovering wineries, and meeting wine professionals with hopes to discover more about wine on a global scale. I think it's important to promote growth from within and challenge yourself as much as possible. To me, life is about balance, relationships and goals. I enjoy absorbing different cultures, music, food, dance, photography, philosophy and wine. My adventures take me to some amazing places, but it's the people that keep refueling my desire to travel. I appreciate every person I've met, every conversation I've had, and try not to forget how lucky I am. A master is one that sees each day as an opportunity in time to create avenues of reality and emotions that are unborn, of realities that are unborn, that the day becomes a frontalization of infinite morals.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

To Contact Danny:

Email: DannyFay [at] gmail.com
Mobile: +33 06 42 84 77 97

Super easy way to get updates when I post a blog, just enter your email here.

Join 24 other followers

Support my education and adventures:

Flickr Photos

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

