Pragmatic Philosophies

Haircuts, Life’s Chokeholds & Things You Should Always Appreciate

I’m trying to grow up, I got a haircut today. I’m not that excited about it, I told the barber to give me something French and don’t chop too much off. Apparently my French was good, because he gave me  a really Euro look.

Trying to Blend in?

I’ve hit a frustrating patch. Nothing is going my way, I’m a bit lost for direction. I’m trying to make the right decisions, but obstacles and misfortunes keep holding me down. I’m a good person, but I need to accept life will never treat you fairly. I suppose if I look at my problems in the big scheme of things, they are quite pathetic. People in this world are starving, dying, being tortured, crying because they just lost the most important person in their life.

I suppose the extremes of life’s emotions get bigger as life goes on, though.

As a child your tears are produced over the ice cream you dropped. As an adolescent you cry about striking out on a pitch outside the strike zone. As a young professional you start stressing with life’s dilemmas and day to day chokeholds known as bills, mortages, taxes, insurances, etc. Then as you grow old you cry as you lose your family, your mother, your father, your mentors, your friends, and at some point, your life partner.

It’s cruel how this system works, which is why I need to appreciate every second of the good times in my life. I’m lucky to have the few things I have. I may not own a lot of things, but I feel like I do. I’m also lucky for the people I have in my life, they are what matters most if you step back and view things holistically.

My haircut is shit, but at least I have hair. At least I had money to get a haircut, and at least I could walk in and out of the barber under my own power.

Lesson of the day is to appreciate the things you often ignore.
Cheers,

Danny

About WineMakingNomad

British by blood. Californian by accent. French by education. I lead an adventurous lifestyle and own 3 things; a backpack, a motorcycle in Bordeaux, France, and a camping van in Sydney, Australia. With everything on my back, I am currently traveling around the world, finishing my wine MBA degree, making wines, discovering wineries, and meeting wine professionals with hopes to discover more about wine on a global scale. I think it's important to promote growth from within and challenge yourself as much as possible. To me, life is about balance, relationships and goals. I enjoy absorbing different cultures, music, food, dance, photography, philosophy and wine. My adventures take me to some amazing places, but it's the people that keep refueling my desire to travel. I appreciate every person I've met, every conversation I've had, and try not to forget how lucky I am. A master is one that sees each day as an opportunity in time to create avenues of reality and emotions that are unborn, of realities that are unborn, that the day becomes a frontalization of infinite morals.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Haircuts, Life’s Chokeholds & Things You Should Always Appreciate

  1. Hey buddy!

    Great iniative this blog and the twitter! I’m enjoying very much so far. Keep it up!

    As for the post today, I can certainly look at the bright side of life, but not so sure the same applies to your new hair cut… ;-)

    Cheers!

    Posted by Carlos Marques | June 1, 2011, 4:24 pm
    • Hey Carlos!

      Great to hear from you buddy! I appreciate your comments and kind words.

      Stay tuned, I’m going to (try) and ride my motorcycle around France, starting on Tuesday.

      I’ll be sure to keep you posted. Hope things are great in Brazil

      Cheers mate,

      Danny

      Posted by WineMakingNomad | June 1, 2011, 4:27 pm

Leave a Reply

To Contact Danny:

Email: DannyFay [at] gmail.com
Mobile: +33 06 42 84 77 97

Super easy way to get updates when I post a blog, just enter your email here.

Join 24 other followers

Support my education and adventures:

Flickr Photos

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

