Wine Adventures

French Wine Adventure Betting Odds & Description

Vegas has opened up the betting for My French Wine Adventure (A motorcycle trip around France on a insufficient small motorcycle and insufficient funds). 

Get shot at by angry French farmer for camping in his field:                                                            8/1

Marry a French woman:                                                                                                                         5/2

Get lost and go in opposite direction for over 100 KMs (60 miles):                                                 4/1

Run out of money and have to beg for food:                                                                                        2/1

Motorcycle breaks down:                                                                                                                        6/1

Pulled over my police, they find out I don’t have insurance and I get arrested:                              5/1

This wine adventure will be challenging, I only have €308 to get me around France, on a motorcycle that tops out at 100 KMPH (62 MPH) and I don’t speak a lot of French. However, I do have a sweet speedo, which I plan to sport if any hitchhiking attire is needed.

60% of the time it works every time

“Adventure should be structured enough to keep your sanity, but unstructured enough to promote insanity”

As with most things in life, the best things come in a balance. Adventure is a balance of an odyssey and a trip, but shouldn’t lean towards either for more than a split second. A trip is something I can’t stand. A trip is a planned, structured itinerary about every second of every day, usually run by the most meticulously anal person in the group. An odyssey is the other end of the spectrum, consisting of a journey that has no end in sight, no real direction and no real purpose. An adventure is far more odyssey than trip, but it allows for the events to steer the ship. An adventure has a direction, but there are no commitments made, no deadlines to beat, it’s a free flowing excursion that lives on the culture, the people and the events that occur.

This being said, I’ll lay out my gameplan.

Direction: Start in Bordeaux (June 7th) End in Bordeaux (Around June 20th)

French Wine Adventure Route? Not 100% sure

Mission: To explore the French Wine World

Objective: To vist and learn more about the people, wines and culture of Loire, Champagne, Burgundy, Rhone, and Languadoc-Roussillon. To meet people like this:

I want to meet people like this!

What I’m going to bring:

2 video cameras (1 Sony HDR-XR150 & 1 Canon HFS10)

1 Cell Phone (+33) 06 42 84 77 97 (Give me a call or text to say hello :-)

1 Laptop (13″ Macbook Pro)

1 pair of shorts, 2 pair of pants, 4 t-shirts, 4 underwear, 4 pair of socks, 1 hat, 1 pair of gloves, 1 speedo

1 tent, 1 sleeping bag, 1 sleeping pad

1 toothbrush, 1 toothpaste, 1 deodorant, 1 soap, 1 shampoo, 5 carbon pills

1 compass, 1 map of France, 1 French dictionary,

What I need:

Encouragement through comments, texts and emails!

Contacts in France that might let me crash on their front lawn or can offer me a warm soup or cup of tea?

Cheers! Stay tuned

Danny

About WineMakingNomad

British by blood. Californian by accent. French by education. I lead an adventurous lifestyle and own 3 things; a backpack, a motorcycle in Bordeaux, France, and a camping van in Sydney, Australia. With everything on my back, I am currently traveling around the world, finishing my wine MBA degree, making wines, discovering wineries, and meeting wine professionals with hopes to discover more about wine on a global scale. I think it's important to promote growth from within and challenge yourself as much as possible. To me, life is about balance, relationships and goals. I enjoy absorbing different cultures, music, food, dance, photography, philosophy and wine. My adventures take me to some amazing places, but it's the people that keep refueling my desire to travel. I appreciate every person I've met, every conversation I've had, and try not to forget how lucky I am. A master is one that sees each day as an opportunity in time to create avenues of reality and emotions that are unborn, of realities that are unborn, that the day becomes a frontalization of infinite morals.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “French Wine Adventure Betting Odds & Description

  1. Hey Danny,

    Nice haircut :) It definitely looks you have a fun adventure ahead of you. You will no doubt learn some more French along the way. Enjoy the ride. I look forward to following your blog.

    All the best,
    Laura

    Posted by Laura Conway | June 3, 2011, 7:51 pm
  2. Good luck brother :)

    Posted by Matthew Fay | June 4, 2011, 10:36 pm
  3. Fay! I love this and can’t wait to see where this adventure takes you! (Pretty soon, I will need it to bring you back home so we can hang out again.) Have so much fun!

    Love Katarina and Chris

    Posted by Katarina Biondic | June 5, 2011, 9:31 pm
  4. ….keep on, keep it on my friend :-)

    Posted by Marco | June 6, 2011, 3:21 am
  5. Excelent adventure ! I can advise you to visit the Saumur region in Loire valley, especially Domaine du Moulin de l’Horizon at Puy Notre Dame where you will be able to discover underground cellar and fine sparkling wine !
    Good luck

    Posted by Joffrey Desgrousilliers | June 8, 2011, 10:07 am
  6. Fay!!! You are having quite the experience over there!! Make sure to come back in 1 piece!! Your blog is incredibly entertaining, looking forward to continuing to follow your adventure.

    Posted by Sarah Gora | June 10, 2011, 1:02 am

Leave a Reply

To Contact Danny:

Email: DannyFay [at] gmail.com
Mobile: +33 06 42 84 77 97

Super easy way to get updates when I post a blog, just enter your email here.

Join 24 other followers

Support my education and adventures:

Flickr Photos

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

